Three Centuries in the Making

In 1722 Hampton Falls received permission from the Boston Puritan fathers to break away from Hampton and form its own parish. In 2022 the town celebrates its tricentennial.

 

The town is committed to its historic past, evidenced by the fact that colonial homes and other buildings are restored rather than torn down.

 

The Hampton Falls Historical Society is located in the Old Hampton Falls Free Library built in 1835. The Society restored an old one room schoolhouse on Drinkwater Road and restored the old library into a museum and meeting room. 

 

In addition to historical buildings, Hampton Falls has a rich history. The town’s early residents worked on farms or were involved in the timber industry. During the early 18th century, there were five mills on the three dams of the Hampton Falls river. One of the mills, Dodge Mill, built in 1765, is still standing at 27 Kensington Road. John Greenleaf Whittier summered in Hampton Falls and wrote many of his poems while living with a Quaker family at the Gove House. The pond across the road from the house, Whittier Pond, is named for the poet. 

 

Visitors to the small village of Hampton Falls are greeted by the white steeple of the 1836 First Baptist Church at the intersection of Route 1 and 88. A country store and post office are on Route 1 as is a Town Common with its new bandstand. Down the road are the Lincoln Akerman Elementary School and Governor Weare Park, where students and athletes use the soccer fields and residents may enjoy a picnic or stroll. The bandstand and the Park were both built by volunteers. About a half-mile west on Route 88 are the Town Hall offices, Library, Police Station and the Volunteer Fire Station.

 

Hampton Falls is committed to preserving its’ rural character and environment. The town boasts hundreds of acres of marshland. The Conservation Committee has set aside open space using donations by residents. 

 

Hampton Falls is a wonderful community in the heart of the bustling New Hampshire Seacoast. Our town has maintained its rural past and small town community, while keeping pace with the area’s economic growth.